Facing a first offense DUI may be frightening and overwhelming due to the unknown involved. The penalties for a first offense; however, are not overly harsh. A first drunk driving conviction is punishable by between 48 hours and six months in jail, community service, a fine under $1,000, possible one year license suspension and a possible treatment program.
More than anything, a first offense is devastating because it goes on your criminal record. The consequences for a second or third DUI offense are more serious and can have detrimental impacts on your life. This shows the importance of fighting aggressively against DUI charges, even the first time. Team up with a Hartford criminal defense attorney from Carlson & Dumeer, LLC for the legal representation that you need.
You can really only receive up to three drunk driving convictions in the state of Connecticut because then your license can be permanently suspended. The penalties that you may be facing for a second or third offense include:
Second Drunk Driving Offense in CT:
Third Drunk Driving Offense in CT:
There is still the possibility of having your license reinstated and get your driving privileges back. To do so, you must wait six years and then request a hearing. The hearing may deem your license suspended permanently or you may be able to have it reinstated. On top of these penalties, you may also have to pay the towing costs, the cost of an attorney, the cost of the treatment program and you may be losing income from missing work in the process. Drunk driving convictions are not taken lightly and the consequences are serious.
It is vital to defend against your DUI charges in the state of Connecticut. All too often, individuals facing their first DUI offense choose to accept it because the penalties are not detrimental. It is crucial to understand that the DUI offense will remain on your record and if you are ever arrested or charged for a DUI later on, the consequences are more severe. When defending against your DUI, there is the possibility of pleading to a lesser offense in Connecticut.
Through negotiations with the judge, you could plead guilty to a 'wet reckless' offense with lesser penalties. This conviction involves reckless driving involving alcohol, but is lesser than a drunk driving conviction. Other defenses would be challenging the probable cause of the arresting officer to stop your vehicle and arrest you. We can also provide alternative reasons for your behavior or appearance in order to challenge evidence in your case.
In order to build a solid defense and fight against your charges, you need an experienced criminal attorney in Hartford to help. Our firm offers a free case evaluation so you can discuss your case with us at no cost. We take the time to investigate each case and gather all evidence involved. Call Carlson & Dumeer, LLC right away to get started in defending against your DUI charges.