Strength in Your Time of Need
Underage DUI Defense Lawyers in Hartford
Connecticut Drinking Laws
DUI penalties in Connecticut are harsh, especially if you are underage. In the state of Connecticut, the drinking age is 21 years old. There are different limits of drinking and driving depending on the driver's age. If you are facing any type of DUI charge in CT, team up with a Hartford criminal attorney from Carlson & Dumeer, LLC right away. We may be able to help build a strong case for you and possibly have your charges reduced or dismissed.
It is illegal to consume alcohol if you are under age 21, except:
- If you are on private property where alcohol is not being sold and you have the consent of a legal guardian
- At a party with consent from your parent
- If it is for religious purposes
- Drinking wine for communion
- If it is for medical purposes
- For medical treatment administered by a doctor
- If you have consent of a legal guardian at a place that sells alcohol
- At a restaurant
In order to be considered driving under the influence in Connecticut, the under 21 individual must have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of .02% or higher. If the driver is 21 years or older, their BAC level cannot be .08% or above. Work with our Hartford criminal lawyer to determine the best course of action for you underage DUI case.
Penalties for Underage DUI
For a first drunk driving conviction, the penalties vary depending on the age of the driver. If the driver is 16 or 17 years old and their BAC is over .02%, their license will automatically be suspended for 48 hours. Their car can be impounded on the spot. On top of that the underage drinker can receive any of the following penalties:
- Imprisonment between 48 hours and 6 months
- Fines between $500 and $1,000
- License suspension for six months if their BAC if between .02 and .08%
- License suspension for one year if their BAC level was over .08%.
If this is a second drunk driving conviction for the underage drinker, the imprisonment sentence is increased to between 120 days and 1 year. The fine is also increased to between $1,000 and $4,000 and they will have their license suspended for one year. Some of the other penalties that the driver can receive include:
- Minor in possession of alcohol
- Soliciting alcohol
- Child endangerment violations such as distributing alcohol to other minors if there were underage drunk passenger
- Possession of false identification if they used a fake ID to buy the alcohol
Implied Consent Law
Connecticut also has an implied consent law that requires all drivers to perform a chemical test if they are arrested for a DUI. Even if you are underage age 21, you are required to take a test in order to provide a BAC level. If you refuse to take the test there are consequences.
They must perform at least one of the three tests:
- Urine test
- Blood test
- Breath test
The officer will have to tell you that there is a license suspension penalty for refusing to take the test and that your refusal can be used against you in court. If you still refuse, the arresting officer will take your license on the spot which revokes your right to drive. If you choose, you can request a hearing to challenge your license suspension.
Carlson & Dumeer, LLC offers a free case evaluation, so do not wait. Call our firm today and see how we may be able to help you!
Do I Really Need to Hire a Lawyer?
With So Much at Stake, It Is Important to Know Benefits of Hiring the Right LawyerLearN moRE
See How We Have Helped Other People in Your Shoes
Recent Success Stories
DUI, Second Offender
Hear It From Our Clients
"They got me a great award, but more importantly the level of service they gave me was phenomenal."- J.L.F.
Why Choose Our FirmWe Care & We Fight for You
We Gained Our Reputation from Hard Work and Persistence. We Have More Than 20 Years of Combined Experience.
We Are Accessible 24/7 for Clients in Connecticut. We Respond Promptly to Calls, Texts, and Emails.
We Provide the Support and Counsel You Need Through Strong Attorney-Client Relationships.
We Provide a Free, No-Obligation Case Evaluation. You Have Nothing to Lose by Contacting Our Firm.
Super Lawyers 2020
National Association of Criminal Defense
Top 100 Trial Lawyers
Available 24/7 to Help You
Our Hartford Lawyers Can Deliver the Immediate Help You Need
What to Do After a Slip & Fall Accident
- Personal Injury,
- Premises Liability,
- Slip & Fall
PJ Day for the Kids at Carlson & Dumeer
- Firm News
Sexual Assault: How to Stay Safe on College Campuses
- In the News,
- Sex Crimes
Halloween Safety Tips 2022
Bike Safety: Tips for Safe Rides This Summer
- Bike Accident,
- Car Accident,
- Personal Injury
Fatal Boat Crash on Connecticut River in Portland
- Boat Accident,
- In the News,
- Personal Injury