Hartford DUI Lawyer
What Are the Consequences for a DUI in Connecticut?
Facing DUI charges can be a frightening and overwhelming experience, you need the help of an experienced DUI lawyer in Hartford to walk you through the process. In the state of Connecticut, the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit for drivers 21 or older is .08%. For drivers under age 21, the BAC limit is .02% and commercial drivers have a limit of .04%. Connecticut has an implied consent law that requires all drivers to perform at least one chemical test, by breath, blood, or urine, if suspected of driving under the influence. If a driver fails to do so, they are subject to a fine as well as an immediate license suspension.
The consequences for driving under the influence are harsh in Connecticut. The breakdown of penalties for first, second, third, and subsequent offense DUIs follows this guideline:
- 1 st Offense: If you have been charged with your first DUI offense, then you could face a jail sentence of at least 48 hours up to six months along with a one year license suspension. Your car will also be towed away and impounded for 48 hours. Penalties also include steep fines between $500 and $1,000. First time DUI offenders may also be expected to fulfill up to 100 hours of community service if your jail sentence is suspended. In addition, you may also be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program.
- 2 nd Offense: After the arrest you can expect the towing and impounding of your vehicle for 48 hours. The penalties for a second DUI offense include a fine anywhere between $1,000 and $4,000, as well as jail time between 120 days and two years. This crime also constituted a one year license suspension and the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for two years after the license suspension is complete. Convicted offenders will also be ordered to complete a substance abuse treatment program and must also fulfill at least 100 hours of community service.
- 3 rd and Subsequent Offense: For a third DUI offense your license can be permanently suspended. However, you may be able to request a hearing after six years. You can also serve one to three years in jail and be required to pay a fine anywhere from $2,000-$8,000. Convicted offenders must also complete at least 100 hours of community service.
Call (877) 795-5594 for your FREE DUI Consultation.
The Possibility of a Lesser Offense than DUI
In Connecticut, with the help of a skilled Hartford DUI attorney a defendant may be able to plead to a lesser offense than DUI. A person facing DUI charges may be able to receive a "wet reckless" conviction. Wet reckless is a conviction for reckless driving involving alcohol, which holds less severe penalties than DUI.
Can you beat a DUI? The answer is "yes." A DUI case can be fought and won, but when facing charges for a DUI offense, you need an experienced and aggressive advocate by your side. You also need a firm that is familiar with DUI laws and handling cases in your state.
Our Hartford DUI attorneys have taken on many DUI cases, including:
- A discontinued DUI case for a second-DUI offender due to insufficient evidence
- A first offender plea issued to a second-DUI offender after negotiations
Carlson & Dumeer, LLC is available to clients 24/7 and we want you to know that we care about the result of your case. We are a team and work tirelessly for our clients. The pledge that we make to clients is that "no one else will work harder for you than we will." We offer a free initial consultation so you can ask us questions and discuss your DUI case with us at no cost.
Contact a Hartford DUI lawyer at (877) 795-5594 for a free case evaluation with our firm!
Q:What is the legal limit for drinking and driving?
A:The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit is set at 0.08% for drivers who are age 21 and older. The limit for commercial drivers is 0.04%, and the limit for drivers under the age of 21 is 0.02%. It is important to note even if a driver is under the legal BAC limit, that individual can still be arrested for DUI if it is determined that he or she is intoxicated. People can be arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both.
Q:What's the difference between my DMV hearing and my criminal court hearing?
A:Your DMV hearing is an administrative hearing that specifically addresses your driver's license suspension from a DUI arrest, while your criminal court hearing addresses your actual criminal DUI charges. Your DMV hearing is conducted by the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, and your court hearing is conducted by the state's Superior Court system. It is important to obtain legal representation for both types of hearings.
Q:Can I refuse to take a DUI test?
A:You can refuse to take a field sobriety test without penalty. In Connecticut, you can also refuse to take a blood test without being penalized, as long as you submit to a breath or urine test. Refusing to take a breath test, however, is a whole different story. Connecticut has an "implied consent" law that legally requires you to submit to a breath test if you are lawfully arrested for suspected DUI. If you refuse to take the test, then your license will be immediately suspended or revoked for six months and your refusal can be used against you as evidence in court. A driver can have his or her license suspended for one year for a second-time refusal, or for three years for a third-time refusal. It should be noted that these DMV suspensions are given in addition to any suspensions that result from DUI convictions.
Q:What are the penalties for DUI?
A:DUI convictions can result in the following penalties: jail time, probation, fines, driver's license suspension, vehicle impoundment, the possible requirement to use an ignition interlock device after the driver's license suspension and the possible requirement to complete a substance abuse program. The severity of the penalties will depend on various factors, such as the type of DUI offense that allegedly occurred, the driver's BAC level, the driver's DUI history, etc. DMV driver's license suspensions are separate from suspensions that occur as a result of DUI convictions.
Q:How can a DUI defense attorney help me with my DUI case?
A:An experienced DUI defense lawyer will have in-depth understanding of the state's DUI laws, the science behind DUI testing and various strategies for challenging DUI charges. A qualified Hartford DUI defense lawyer will know how to look for weaknesses in case that could serve as grounds for dismissal, a not guilty verdict or a charge reduction. These might be weaknesses such as technological issues with DUI testing equipment, lab errors, unlawful police stops due to lack of probable cause, etc. A qualified legal professional can help you address your charges properly and help you take the most effective steps for defending your freedom and your record. Contact Carlson & Dumeer, LLC for high-quality DUI defense!
DUI Charge Dismissed
DUI, Second Offender Dismissed
Robbery No Jail & No Felony Conviction
Unlawful Discharge of Firearm Plea Deal
Multiple Felony Drug Charges Dismissed
Possession with Intent to Distribute No Jail Time
Multiple Counts of Possession with Intent to Distribute No Jail Time
Second Offender DUI Charges Reduced
Employee Theft Nominal Restitution
We Provide a Free, No-Obligation Case Evaluation. You Have Nothing to Lose by Contacting Our Firm.
We Provide the Support and Counsel You Need Through Strong Attorney-Client Relationships.
We Are Accessible 24/7 for Clients in Connecticut. We Respond Promptly to Calls, Texts, and Emails.
We Gained Our Reputation from Hard Work and Persistence. We Have More Than 20 Years of Combined Experience.