DISCLAIMER: As you look over the result provided below, note that each case is different and while your case may be similar to the one presented, outcomes will vary and past success may not be indicative of future success.
Carlson & Dumeer, LLC recently took on a case defending a client who was arrested for driving on a suspended license. This type of offense in Connecticut can be punished by jail time, fines and more. Generally if you are charged for driving while your license is suspended, you are facing a misdemeanor offense. The potential penalties for this offense can be found in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-215(b) and they include:
First Offense in Connecticut:
A fine between $150 and $200
Up to 90 days in jail
Subsequent Offense in Connecticut:
A fine between $200 and $600
Up to one year in jail
There are certain cases where the penalties are enhanced and the offense could be charged as a felony. If charged as a felony, you could be looking at between two and three years in prison and a larger fine. Our client was charged with driving on a suspended license and was facing a fine as well as significant jail time. Our aggressive criminal defense lawyers helped our client avoid the mandatory jail time in his case. With negotiation, we were able to get an order of mental health treatment rather than jail time for our client.
Not only can our firm assist you if you have been arrested for driving on a suspended or revoked license, but we can help you seek a license reinstatement. This can help you avoid later charges like our client was facing. Contact Carlson & Dumeer, LLC if you are facing any type of criminal charges and we would be happy to set up a free case evaluation. We can fight to protect your rights and avoid the potential penalties on the line.
Call now to team up with an aggressive legal advocate who will work harder for you than anyone else.