Sex crimes are very serious criminal offenses in Connecticut. Statutory rape is one of the worst and holds severe penalties. The consequences for committing statutory rape vary depending on the exact actions of the offense and the age of both the defendant and the victim.
Definition of "Statutory Rape"
In Connecticut, it is illegal for an adult over age 18 to have sex with a minor under the age of 16. It does not matter if the minor consented to the sexual intercourse; it is against the law and the offense is called "statutory rape."
Are you facing charges of statutory rape in the Hartford area? Consult with a Hartford criminal lawyer from Carlson & Dumeer, LLC today!
The penalties for the various degrees of statutory rape follows these guidelines:
First Degree Sexual Assault:
- Charged when there is sexual intercourse between a minor that is 12 years or younger and a person more than two years older than the victim.
- Charged as a class A felony and is punishable by 10 to 25 years in prison and / or a fine of up to $20,000
Second Degree Sexual Assault:
- Charged when there is sexual intercourse between a minor that is 14 or 15 years old and a person that is more than two years older than the victim.
- Charged as a class B felony and is punishable by a possible fine of up to $15,000 and / or by one to 20 years in prison
Fourth Degree Sexual Assault:
- Charged when there is sexual contact (not intercourse) between a minor that is 14 years or younger and a person of any age.
- Charged as a Class C felony with a possible fine of up to $5,000 and / or by one to five years in prison
There are many defenses that can be made against this type of charge which is why you need to contact a skilled lawyer if you are facing these charges.
In Connecticut, there is an exception if the two people are married, then they can have consensual sex. There is also an exception called the "Romeo and Juliet" exception which is meant for cases where teenagers engage in consensual sex. This exception can play a role if two minors that are two or fewer years apart in age choose to have sex.
There is also the argument that there was a mistake in age. All too often, people do not think to look into the age of a person before engaging in sex. Unfortunately, in Connecticut the mistake of age is not considered a defense.
Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Hartford, CT
If you are facing statutory rape charges be sure to retain the aggressive legal representation of a Hartford criminal defense attorney from our firm.
Call today to schedule a free case evaluation to discuss your unique case!