In the state of Connecticut, burglary involves entering a building or remaining in a building unlawfully with the intent of committing a crime. The exact charge will depend on the circumstances of the offense. There are five different types of burglary charges in CT and they can either be charged as Class B, C or D felonies. The exact actions that constitute a burglary offense are found in the Connecticut General Statutes Title 53a, it states that the offense occurs when a person:
"enters or remains unlawfully in a building with intent to commit a crime therein."
The determination of dwelling includes a building that is occupied by people throughout the night. A 'building' is broader and includes cars, trailers, aircrafts, boats and many other places of occupancy. Team up with a Hartford criminal attorney from our firm for help fighting against your burglary charges.
In order to be charged with a 1st degree burglary offense the defendant must have entered into a building with the intent to commit a crime AND was either:
- Armed with deadly weapons
- Intentionally or attempting to inflict bodily harm while committing the crime
This offense is generally charged as a Class B felony, which is punishable by at least five years in prison and up to 20 years with a fine of up to $20,000.
Second degree burglary involves a person either:
- Entering into a dwelling with the intent to commit a crime at night
- Entering into a dwelling with the intent to commit a crime while someone is in the dwelling
A 2nd degree burglary charge is generally a Class C felony punishable by between one and 10 years and fine of up to $10,000. If the defendant also had a firearm while committing a 2nd degree felony they may be charged with a Class C felony, but have a mandatory minimum prison sentence of one year. Third degree burglary is the basic offense involving a person entering into the building with the intent to commit a crime.
This is charged as a Class D felony in Connecticut, punishable by between one and five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Adding a firearm to a 3rd degree burglary brings about a mandatory one year minimum prison sentence. If you are facing any type of burglary charge, you need to team up with an experienced criminal defense attorney in Hartford, CT.
Contact Carlson & Dumeer, LLC for the representation that you need. Our firm offers a free case evaluation so do not hesitate to call today and see how we may be able to assist you in your criminal case.