Se Habla Español - Confidential Consultation - Available 24/7 in Connecticut 
car accident, DUI

Memorial Day Weekend DUI & Traffic Violation Arrests

Memorial Day Weekend DUI & Traffic Violation Arrests

The 100 days between Memorial Day and Labor Day are known for being some of the deadliest days of the year as traffic deaths and injuries typically increase. This can be attributed to the high volume of traffic, increased DUI incidents, and other factors, Over the Memorial Day weekend (from midnight on Friday, May 27th through 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, May 29th), there were also 359 accidents, and there were 35 reported injuries and 10 fatalities. Law enforcement officers also made several arrests and issued many traffic citations. In total, state troopers responded to:

  • 6,448 calls for service
  • 547 motorist assists
  • 615 speeding violations
  • 145 seatbelt violations
  • 451 hazardous moving violations

Consequences of a DUI Conviction in Connecticut

In Connecticut, you can face harsh penalties if you are convicted of driving under the influence. First-time DUI offenses are considered misdemeanor offenses, while second-time and subsequent offenses are felonies. A DUI charge can also be classified as a felony if the alleged offender causes another person to be injured or killed.

For a first-time DUI offense, the penalties include:

  • A fine of $500-$1,000
  • Imprisonment for up to six months
  • Mandatory completion of a substance abuse treatment program
  • Participation in a victim impact panel program and/or community service

For second-time DUI offenses, the penalties include:

  • A fine of $1,000-$4,000
  • Imprisonment for up to two years
  • Mandatory completion of a substance abuse treatment program
  • License suspension (for a year)
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (for two years after your license is reinstated)
  • Completion of at least 100 hours of community service

For third-time DUI offenses, the penalties include:

  • A fine of $2,000-$8,000
  • Imprisonment for up to three years
  • Permanent suspension of your license
  • Completion of at least 100 hours of community service

DUI convictions can also impact your financial and social freedoms. Specifically, you may also have:

  • A personal injury claim filed against you. If someone is injured or killed while you are driving under the influence, they (or their family) may file a personal injury or wrongful death suit against you. This claim would be a civil matter and is separate from your criminal convictions.
  • Struggles with finding employment or obtaining education opportunities. Convictions appear on your criminal record and background check forever. When you apply to college, an education program, or a job, this conviction will appear in your background check, which can impact whether you are accepted or hired. It is also important to note that you may lose your professional license if you are convicted of a felony.
  • Higher insurance rates. Your driving record will reflect the DUI conviction, and your insurer may raise your annual premium. In some cases, they may not renew your policy. You should review your insurance policy as every company has its guidelines.
  • Certain constitutional rights taken away. If you are convicted of a felony offense, you will be considered a prohibited person. Such persons are not allowed to purchase, own, or possess firearms or ammunition.

Consequences of Speeding, Seatbelt Violations, & Other Traffic Offenses

After receiving a traffic citation, you have the option of pleading guilty and paying the fine or pleading not guilty and fighting the citation. Before you decide, you should consult with a reliable attorney as they can:

  • Help you better understand whether you have a case
  • Stand with you in court (if you plead not guilty)
  • Warn you of the potential consequences

If you plead or are found guilty of a traffic violation, you will have to pay a fine and can receive points on your license. The specific fine and amount of points will rely upon the specific offense. Seatbelt violation offense fines are $50-$75 varying based on whether the driver is a minor. Other fines for traffic offenses in Connecticut are as follows:

  • Fines for speeding violations can range from $35-$200 depending on how much you exceeded the speed limit.
  • Fines for distracted driving range from $125-$500 depending on whether this is a first-time or subsequent offense.
  • Fines for following too closely (or tailgating) can be up to $150.
  • Fines for stop sign and stop light violations are $134.

Depending on the offense, you may receive anywhere from one to five points on your license. For instance, speeding, failure to signal, and illegal passing offenses can have 1 point added to your license, while failure to yield and failure to obey traffic signal offenses are worth 2 points. Points remain on your record for two years.

If you obtain six points on your license, you will receive a warning letter from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) that outlines the potential penalties for future violations. After accumulating ten or more points, your license will be suspended, and the DMV will issue you a notice that tells you when you can apply to have it reinstated.

If you are found or please guilty of a traffic offense, your insurer will also be made aware of your violation. Differing based on their policies, your insurance rates may increase.

Get Legal Help

Having a misdemeanor or a felony conviction on your record can have long-lasting effects on your rights, freedom, and quality of life. If you are arrested or issued a ticket, you should reach out to our attorneys as soon as possible.

At Carlson & Dumeer, LLC, our attorneys have over two decades of combined experience. Known for being dedicated to excellence and strong advocates for our clients, we are equipped to help you develop a strong legal defense against DUI and traffic offense charges.

Schedule a free, no-obligation case consultation today by calling (877) 795-5594 or completing this online form.

Categories